Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Description

Archiving your live streams is smart and using the Auto-Archive is the smartest ways to operate your video management at a core level. Once you learn to properly auto-archive your live streams, you'll probably wonder how you operated so long without this feature.

Auto archiving critically affects your live stream Player. So, make sure you fully understand how the auto-archiving works. See the below Read Me First section before proceeding to use this feature. How critically? It can make your live stream player change into a VOD video, making your live stream player simply disappear. So, since there are two different modes of auto-archiving, make sure to choose the one that works best for you.

Read Me First

If this feature is turned on, clicking STOP on your live stream automatically creates an archived version of your live stream by utilizing the "Archive Your Live Stream" feature found within a live streaming player's advanced options on its Video Details tab. You will have the option to save your live stream to a;

  • New Player - This will record your live stream to a new player. Allowing your viewers the ability to watch a recorded version of your live stream after the fact. This "recorded version" is ready within a few seconds of ending your active live stream.
    Recommended when you want to use a live streaming player for multiple events and have them recorded.
  • Current Player - This performs the same action as the "New Player" option but instead of making a new player this will change your current live streaming player into a Video On Demand version of itself. Once your live stream ends, this player will be changed. It will now only show the recorded live stream. So if you want to reuse this player at a later date for another live stream make sure to pick the "New Player" option instead of this one.
    Recommended for one-off events. 

 

Archiving a live stream has never been so easy. Simply turn this option on before a live stream and save your changes to the player, then run your stream as intended. When the event is finished, you will have a saved version of your live stream ready for playback. 


Please remember that the search field in the upper right hand corner of this page is a great resource that we have specifically for you. If there is a question that this page did not answer, please use relevant keywords in that field-- chances are good that we have something in our WIKI Knowledge base that could help you. If not, please contact us.


Warning 1 (Choose Wisely): Please make sure you double check what player type you are saving your stream to (New / Current). If you make a stream for a client and they embed the player onto their site chances are you will want to use the "New Player" option. Because the option "Current Player" could result in issues if you run a test stream before the main event, causing the live streaming player to turn into a video on demand player ending up not allowing you to run the live stream from the intended player.

Warning 2 (Double Check): If you run a live stream test before a main event, then when it comes time to run the actual live stream if you are unable to get the live stream working chances are you might have selected to save the stream to the current player by mistake, saving your test stream over the live streaming player.  


Quick Tip: You can change a video on demand player into a live streaming player by using the "Change Video File" option. Simply change the player back into a live streaming player and you are good to go. Keep in mind this will result in a new stream name for this live stream but the player's embed code will not need to be changed on a customer's web site. The person running the live stream will just need to be notified of the new stream name they need to use in their live stream encoder application.

Archiving Your Live Stream

Step 1. From your VIDEOS page select settings for one of your currently created live stream. Or create a new live stream.

Step 1. From your VIDEOS page select settings for one of your currently created live stream. Or create a new live stream.

 

Step 2. Make sure you are on the Video Details tab. With in the Advanced Options you will find the option "Archive Your Live Stream".


Step 3. Select how you would like to archive your live stream

  • Off(default option)
    • Will not archive your live stream.
  • New Player
    • Will archive your live stream to a new player that will show up in your video list with in the next minute after a live stream is over
  • Current Player
    • Will archive your live stream to the current player that will show up in your video list with in the next minute after a live stream is over

Step 3. Select how you would like to archive your live stream Off(default option) Will not archive your live stream. New Player Will archive your live stream to a new player that will show up in your video list with in the next minute after a live stream is over Current Player Will archive your live stream to the current player that will show up in your video list with in the next minute after a live stream is over


Step 4. Once your stream is over you will be able to view the archived live stream. This example was created using the Current Player option and was streamed using our iOS Live Streaming Application. As you can see in the Advanced Options, the settings for this player automatically changed from a live stream to a Video On Demand player. Now this stream can be viewed at a later date. View the stream here.

Step 4. Once your stream is over you will be able to view the archived live stream. This example was created using the Current Player option and was streamed using our iOS Live Streaming Application. As you can see in the Advanced Options, the settings for this player automatically changed from a live stream to a Video On Demand player. Now this stream can be viewed at a later date. View the stream here.

Account Availability
  • Trial
Y
  • Lite
N
  • Pro
N
  • White Label
Y
  • White Label Custom
Y
  • Sub Admin
Y
  • Sub Account
Y
  • No labels
Write a comment…